Tannin wine has been used for centuries in Europe as a flavor enhancer, a preservative and a way to preserve foods, and for centuries it was a common way to make wine from grapes.
But in the late 20th century, tannin became an increasingly controversial ingredient in the beverage industry.
The American Chemical Society and the World Health Organization have long banned its use as a preservatives, but the American Food and Drug Administration in 2014 approved the use of tannins as a way of protecting food and beverages from spoilage.
That decision has sparked a debate about whether tannen can be used to produce wine, as opposed to beer, and whether the additive should be prohibited.
And this year, the European Union banned the use, but allowed some tannic acids to be used as an ingredient in some products.